International Pain School

Train the Trainer Program

International Pain School - Train The Trainer Program
International Pain School - Train The Trainer Program
International Pain School - Train The Trainer Program
International Pain School | The people behind the program
International Pain School | The people behind the program

The People behind the program

In 2012 members of IASP’s Developing Countries Working Group of the Neuropathic Pain Special Interest Group, discussed methods for providing education in pain medicine to the medical community, such as pain schools, lecture tours or workshops. Participants acknowledged scarcity of information about the impact of the available methods. We concluded that there was a need to evaluate one teaching method and decided to focus on a pain school that will be taught on the basis of a ‘train-the-trainer’ approach, widely used in programs teaching about HIV or sickle cell disease.

As a first step, suitable teaching materials were sought after. ‘The Pain Management for Low Resource Settings’ online-publication of IASP Press was seen fit, together with EFIC´s Core Curriculum on Pain Medicine. The next step consisted of approaching volunteers and asking them to write or review, presentations and hand-outs addressing a variety of topics related to pain management. These volunteers now form our “International Pain School Faculty”. Other than funds to cover costs of formatting the talks and travel, the work setting up the Train the Trainer workshops relied on voluntary work on behalf of the Faculty. We thank the Faculty for their important contribution. Their names and affiliations are as follows:

Andreas Kopf, MD,
Berlin, Germany
Ruth Zaslansky, DSc,
Berlin, Germany / Isreal

Authors and reviewers
Aki Hietaharju, MD,
Tampere, Finland
Andrew Rice, MD,
London, United Kingdom
Ashok Kumar Saxena, MD,
Delhi, India
Barbara Kleinmann, MD,
Freiburg, Germany
Claudia Schultz-Gibbins, Dipl.-Psych.,
Berlin, Germany
Debra Gordon, RN, DNP, FAAN,
Seattle, USA
Dominique Fletcher, MD,
Garches, France
Doralina Anghelescu, MD,
Memphis, USA
Etleva Gjoni, Dipl.-Psych.,
Berlin, Germany
Golschan Asgarpur, MD,
Berlin, Germany
Jamie Laubisch, MD,
Memphis, USA
Justin Baker, MD,
Memphis, USA
Justus Benrath, MD,
Mannheim, Germany
Maged El Ansary, MD,
Cairo, Egypt
Maija Haanpää, MD,
Helsinki, Finland
Margarita Puig, MD, PhD,
Barcelona, Spain
Narinder Rawal, MD, PhD, FRCA (Hon),
Orebro, Sweden
Nilesh Patel, PhD,
Nairobi, Kenya
Olaitan Soyannwo, MD,
Ibadan, Nigeria
Rainer Sabatowski, MD,
Dresden, Germany
Ramani Vijayan, MD,
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Winfried Meissner, MD,
Jena, Germany
Yohannes Woubished, MD,
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Xavier Lassalle, RN, MSF,
Paris, France